top of page

My photography


A Mother with Great Love


I was a great experience for me since this is the first time for me to record a life of a stranger via photography. Besides photos that I took, I produced an article to show a variety of aspects of Chou's life.

Cathy Chou, 39, has been in Columbia for more than 10 years since she graduated from college. She does not have an official job and spends a lot of time volunteering for the community. “I am a person of great kindness and I want to express my love to different people.” she said. As a volunteer for Columbian Chinese Christian Church, she plays the piano for the church and takes charge of the teenagers in the church. One of her favorite places is library. She goes to the Daniel Boone Regional Library every week, purchasing or borrowing books for herself and her kids.

Chou is also the teacher in AWANA Club. According to her, she chooses this job mainly because she loves spending with all kinds of children. “Children are cute and require a lot of care and love.” she said. In the club, she plays games with the kids and tells stories to the kids.

Chou has two children. A few years ago, when she had her first kid and started to search information about how to educate kids, she found this intriguing and decided to devote her time to children education. Hence,she quit her job and began to teach her kids at home. “I am grateful to my husband for his support.” She said. According to her. in the process of spending time with her kids, she has developed patience and intelligence. One of her techniques to comfort her children is to use “feeling wheel”. This is a tool to let kids choose their mood on the “wheel” when they are upset. Chou comforts her kids based on their mood represented by the “wheel”.



最新文章

查看全部

Comments


bottom of page